2013 RSP Football Writers Project


Darrelle Revis was the most popular pick in the first RSP Writers Project. Where will he go in a draft? Photo by Marianne O'Leary.

Darrelle Revis was the most popular pick in the first RSP Writers Project. Where will he go in a draft? Photo by Marianne O’Leary.

Last year, I managed a project where 15 writers built their own teams according to the guidelines of a strict salary cap and list of player values. They presented their picks and then answered questions about personnel talent and fit with scheme. If I had the time I would have presented a dozen more reader teams from those of you who wanted to share what they built.

The 2013 Rookie Scouting Portfolio Writers Project will be under management from Footballguys co-owner Sigmund Bloom, who will be running a 32-team start-up draft with fantasy football style serpentine order that includes a third-round reversal. For the sake of time and this being our first go at this process, we are not allowing trades and the player pool will consist of veterans only.

We’ll see how many rounds we can go with this crew. If we build an entire roster I’ll be shocked, but I think even as little as a few rounds will have fun analysis. Update: There’s strong sentiment to build at least a starting lineup. 

The draft will take place on Twitter and I will update the results every 24-36 hours with commentary from the team owners. Here is a list of the participating writers by their draft order (each name is linked to a page that will eventually have analysis of each of their picks):

  1. Dane BruglerNFL Draft Scout@dpbrugler
  2. Sam Monson, Pro Football Focus@PFF_Sam
  3. Josh Katzowitz, CBS Sports, @joshkatzowitz
  4. Matt Miller, Bleacher Report/Former CFL Scout, @nfldraftscout
  5. NFLosophy (Former NFL Ops Coordinator), @nflosophy
  6. Sigmund Bloom, Footballguys/Bleacher Report@SigmundBloom
  7. Lance Zierlein, Sideline View@Lance Zierlein
  8. Ben Muth, Football Outsiders/Former NFL Player, @FO_wordofmuth
  9. Cian Fahey, Guardian, @cianaf
  10. Will Brinson, CBS Sports, @willbrinson
  11. Chris Burke, Sports Illustrated, @chrisburke_SI
  12. Matt Williamson, ESPN/Former NFL Scout, @WilliamsonNFL
  13. Rumford Johnny, 2MugsFF@rumfordjohnny
  14. Alex Miglio, Pro Football Focus/Bleacher Report/The Huddle, @alexmiglio
  15. Russ Lande, GM Jr./National Football Post/Former NFL Scout, @russlande
  16. Joe Goodberry, Cincy Jungle@joegoodberry
  17. Josh Norris, Rotoworld/NFL.com@joshnorris
  18. Aaron Schatz, Football Outsiders@FO_ASchatz
  19. Michael Schottey, Bleacher Report@Schottey
  20. Josh Liskiewitz, GM Jr./Football Standard@joshliskiewitz
  21. Jene Bramel, Footballguys/Second Opinion@jenebramel
  22. Field Yates, ESPN@fieldyates
  23. Scott Kacsmar, Bleacher Report/Cold Hard Football Facts@captaincomeback
  24. Simon Clancy, BBC Radio/Sports Illustrated, @siclancy
  25. Ian Kenyon, Bleacher Report@iankenyonNFL
  26. Marc Lillibridge, Bleacher Report/NFL Agent, @NFLBridge
  27. Matt Waldman, Rookie Scouting Portfolio/Footballguys/Football Outsiders@mattwaldman
  28. Ryan Riddle, Bleacher Report/Former NFL Player, @ryan_riddle
  29. Mike Tanier, Sports on Earth@MikeTanier
  30. Dave Richard, CBS Sports@daverichard
  31. Danny Kelly, Field Gulls@fieldgulls
  32. Chase Stuart, Footballperspective/Footballguys@fbgchase

The 2013 RSP Writers Project is brought to you by the 2013 Rookie Scouting Portfolio, the most comprehensive analysis of skill position players available. Prepayment is available now for April 1 download. Better yet, if you’re a fantasy owner the 56-page Post-Draft Add-on comes with the 2013 RSP at no additional charge. Best, yet, 10 percent of every sale is donated to Darkness to Light to combat sexual abuse. You can purchase past editions of the Rookie Scouting Portfolio for just $9.95 apiece.

8 comments

  1. Is this a dynasty drrt , like the real NFL where you keep the palyers for their entire career? and you are drafting ateam as if you would play them on th efield, so player positions(O lineman etc ) are as valuable as they are in the NFL?
    Thanks

    • It’s an open ended exercise and not fantasy oriented, although from my perspective some of the writers have a little Daniel Snyder to their perspective when it comes to thinking they’re fielding a fantasy team ;)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,034 other followers

%d bloggers like this: